back to writings

Wide Roads, Poor Infrastructure: A Most Curious Case for Abuja.

...

i'm convinced there are more cars than people in Abuja. maybe not, but it certainly feels like it.

for a city with such rich history, resources and seaming development, i still don't understand why transportation is such criminally overlooked. surely, i'm not the only one concerned by the state of things.

Abuja has done one thing well - wide roads. but what really is the point of the roads if they're not being utilized efficiently? i mean, commuting in Abuja is a journey of tiny cars, recklessness and smelly people. let's unpack each of these.

tiny cars. it makes no sense that a city as big as Abuja does not have functional bus lines. this is the capital of the country, for crying out loud. buses should run on schedules 24/7. there should be at least one bus line running from the hills of Guzape, to the bustling streets of Gwarinpa, to the calm of Maitama, the heart of Wuse, to the industrial hub of Idu, and everywhere in between. instead of functional buses and bus lines, we have tiny cars packed with more people than i'm sure the designers intended and utter disregard for safety.

safety is a word i know does not exist in so many dictionaries in Abuja. explain to me why traffic lights are mere options than law in Abuja. drivers in tiny cars, drivers in fancy cars, bikemen, even the police and road safety officials. everyone seems to be colour blind in Abuja. either that, or everyone is always in a rush. actually, i think it's the latter. everyone is always in a rush in Abuja! cons of giving reckless people good roads. but i won't dwell on this recklessness for much longer. it's as a result of a failed system; utterly abysmal infrastructure.

smelly people? there's not much to say here. i intended it as a rant but i'll be nice. (just wear deodorant). the point remains, Abuja is not ready to fulfil its destiny as a megacity if it does not take its transportation seriously. it's that simple. metro lines connecting the heart of the city and its outskirts, bus lines across the city, proper enforcement of traffic laws, good road maintenance. that's the least we can do. please, keep your commentary on "there's no money" to yourself. we both know that's untrue. i shouldn't be in a seaming megacity as Abuja and drive all the time. don't even get me started on the paedestrian sidewalks. i'm on an evening run, constantly thinking if the taxi driver is going to leave the perfectly paved road and drive onto the sidewalk to avoid traffic. it's that bad.

if i really am the only person concerned, then i'll be the one to start the movement. somehow.